Avatar: The Movie Review

23 Dec
2009

If you are reading this review to figure out whether you should go for the movie or not, you are wasting your time. I would suggest you go!

If you have already seen the movie, you know you are wasting your time!

Avatar is a not so great movie, made fantastically. I honestly went in expecting something like the Titanic, a decent story done well with special effects. Avatar is one-third the story and 2000 times the special effects!

Jake Sully is an Ex-Marine and even though paralyzed waist down is recruited for a critical mission because his DNA matches his twin (dead) brother’s! Mission is to enter the world of Pandora (not to be confused with the box’s owner!) through a mixed breed (of the local community and humans) called Avatar, mingle with the local community and eventually persuade them to move from their current habitat. Because beneath that lies the most abundant resource of an element unobtanium (who thought of that name!!) which is the only way to save Earth.

And as expected…(and ala SRK) Jake’s Avatar merges a lot more than needed, with the local community, falls in love with the chief’s daughter (are they usually the one chicks around…why not the sweeper’s daughter…or the chef’s…why always the chief!!)…and eventually comes on their side. The climax is a battle between the humans and the locals, in which not surprising the locals win simply because animals matched with bows and arrows can anyday fight stun guns and AK47s!

However, what lies in between the story, is this entire, almost independent story of how Neytiri (the chief’s daughter) shows Jake ‘their’ ways…! Thats what James Cameroon has used to showcase the beauty of special effects. Pandora has been created in a  breath-taking manner, the relationship of the locals with nature has been expressed sensitively…

Its not a bad movie at all…cmon…we are from the land of “Om Shanti Om” and “Rab Ne Bana Di something something”…

My opinion is…that dude has spent 2,000 crores in making this jazz….you can surely spend 200 bucks…!

And hey…do watch it on a big 3d screen…

Rating: 2.5/5

27 Responses to Avatar: The Movie Review

Avatar

[Blocked by CFC] Burton Haynes

January 7th, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Where to begin! The visuals in this pieces was groundbreaking. He did it with the Terminator series and then Titanic, so one would expect Cameron to deliver… and HE DID! The visual are by far some of the sharpest CGI I have seen. You could almost say that there is a disquiet that follows Cameron’s soul, as there is no other possibility of this strong and intensified quality. Its production design and visual effects are both noteworthy and it will get its praise upon official release.

Avatar

Hellen Zass

January 31st, 2010 at 7:05 am

the movie was breath taking ! i saw it 2wice ! the colors they use just make u wish this were a real place. The characters are very good actors [even though u only hear their voices lol] the story makes since and the plot was really sumthing new. id never expect this from the creaters of Titanic but they did a splended job. i like how this is a kids movie as well, so the whole family can enjoy it. the emothion in the movie makes u wanna cry and be happy and be angry ! its soooo well directed. nice job guys on the film and i hope everyone has a chance to see this beautiful movie called Avatar. Hit me up on my myspace if you wanna talk ! my email is lariah1234@aol.com !! find me !

Avatar

Gokl

February 6th, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Don’t give negative comments if you don’t have ability to comment on movies. This a good movie of the century much much much better than Titanic or any other movie. Jame comeo-n (Cameron)…Fabulous work….Hats off to you for your thought. Let our scientist learn from you….
Another Indian Avatar….

Avatar

George

April 27th, 2010 at 9:46 pm

found this avatar spoof – classic! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N15ok23x6Rk

Avatar

Jackie Parraz

May 31st, 2010 at 12:06 am

I am sharing this with my spouse. Maybe this will get him interested with me again. Things have been a little boring lately, hopefully this will change that.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

June 1st, 2010 at 1:14 pm

SIR,
GOOD DAY,
YOU WANT TO TAKE ME AND MY BBIES TO HOLLYWOOD ,MYSELF WHEN YOU ONCE WAS SHEWING AS IF YOU WERE POOR IN THE JACK NICHOLSON TEAM, I WANT YOU HOW EVER YOU ARE IN YOUR OLD AGE TO TAKE ME AND MY BABIES TO NEW YORK SO LEASE COME AND TAKE ME AND ALL MY BABIES THAT IN SLUM AREAS KAAKE, BIRDS IN MY NEIGHBOURHOOD, ALL BABIES IN MY DOGS, ALL BABIES IN THE OXEN AND COWS, PLEASE DONOT KILL THEM, THE DOCTOR OF MY CHILDHOOD DAYS,
FATHER LAMBA KNOWS WHERE THEY ARE ASK THEM AND TAKE ALL OF US ALL GET MONEY FROM FATHER LAMBA.
TANKING YOU ,
ADDRESS-
C/O RAM YASH SINGH,
T/111/34,
NML COLONY,
GOLMURI,
JAMSHEDPUR-831003.
BIHAR.
INDIA.
YOURS LOVING FRIEND,
MANJULA MANI.
ALSO ALL MY FAMILY SHOULD GO TO HOLLYWOOD.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

June 1st, 2010 at 1:23 pm

RESPECTED SIR,
GOOD DAY,
HOW ARE YOU !
I WANTED TO KNOW THAT WILL YOU TAKE ME AND MY BABIES IN KAAKE, IB BIRDS IN MY TREES, IN DOGS , IN COWS AND OXEN AND ALSO MY BROTHERS, SISTERS , AUNT , UNCLE, AND MOTHER , FATHER, MY OWN FAMILY AND MY BABIES FAMILY AND ONE GROUP OF FAMILY IN THE NEARBY SLUM AREA.YOU HAD TAKEN CHANEL IMAN AND ALL MY BABIES TO FASHION TV THATS IT NOW TAKE US ALSO,
THANKING YOU,
YOURS’,
MANJULA.
ADDRESS-
C/O RAM YASH SINGH,
T/111/34,
NML COLONY,
GOLMURI,
JAMSHEDPUR-831003.
JHARKHAND.
INDIA.

Avatar

Alton Dirado

June 4th, 2010 at 9:03 am

I love the content filled website! I will definitelycome back again!

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

July 26th, 2010 at 8:56 pm

RESPECTED SIR I AM CAPABLE TO GO WITH YOU TO AMERICA ALONG WITH MY FAMILY,MY BABIES IN ANIMALS, BIRDS,LIZARDS,CHAMELEONS TO USA. ATFIRST OUR BABIES,THEN US. DO THAT WE CAN AND OUR BAIES GO TO AMERICA FOR A PERSON LIKE ME.
THANKING YOU,
YOUR’ MANJULA MANI.
ADDRESS-
C/O RAM YASH SINGH,
T/111/34,
NML COLONY,
GOLMURI,
JAMSHEDPUR-831003.
JHARKHAND.
INDIA.

Avatar

PRIYANSU

July 26th, 2010 at 8:59 pm

WILL MY GRAET GRANDFATHER GOING TO RECOVER SOON.
I NEED YOUR BLESSINGS.

Avatar

PRIYANSU

July 26th, 2010 at 9:01 pm

IS MY GREAT GRANDFATHER GOING TO RECOVER.ALL YOUR BLESSINGS CAN SAVE HIM HIMSELF ONLY.

Avatar

PRIYANSU

July 26th, 2010 at 9:05 pm

CAN ‘SIR JAMES CAMEROON AT YOUR EARNESTY SAVE MY GREAT GRANDFATHER,PLEASE RECOVERY BE AN EASIER WAY YOUR BLESSINGS TILL HIS RECOVERY.

Avatar

PRIYANSU

July 26th, 2010 at 9:54 pm

DOCTOR PRESCRIBED THE SERENACE-B TO MY COMMA’ GREAT GRAND FATHER WILL HE SUVIVE.PRIYANSU.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

September 13th, 2010 at 6:50 pm

WHO HAS MY BABIES ,WHERE,’ FASHION TELEVISION ‘SIR.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

November 10th, 2011 at 9:24 am

PLEASE,PLEASE SIR COME AND TAKE MYSELVES AND MY PARENTS TO OSCARS AS EVERY MOMENT IN MY LIFE IS OSCARS SINCE MY EYES ARE OPEN AND THEN THE TELEVISION PEOPLE SPEAK.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

November 10th, 2011 at 9:25 am

MARK THOMPSON MY FAMILY IS NOT TAKING ME TO OSCARS YOU COME AND LEONARDO DICAPRIO WILL MARRY ME.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

November 10th, 2011 at 9:40 am

I HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN HOLLYWOOD MOVIES AND GUINNESS RECORD OF MAXIMUM NUMBER OF BABIES IN ONE TIME.I HAVE NO CHOICE TO SAY TO SPIT THAT MOMENT WHICH CROSSED THREE YEARS.THE LIFE HAS SHOWN SO MUCH IN LEONARDO DICAPRIO WHO IF WANTS CAN TAKE MY FAMILY ALONGWITH MY GRANDPARENTS AND SOPHISTICATIONS TO SIT IN THE OSCARS.ADDRESS-C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA. THOUGH I WORK SONGS AND MOVIES FOR BIHAR TELEVISION AND ALSO FOR THE HINDI MOVIES. INTELLECT OF OSCARS PLACING THE J. EDGAR TO COMPLICE FULL DONE MOVIES FROM EVERY YEAR COMING WITH FINELY DONE AWARDS FOR ALL MOVIES. THE PLACENTATION OF ALL HOLLYWOOD ACTOR MR. LEONARDO DICAPRIO AND YOU MR JAMES CAMERON.DAVID CAMERON FROM AMERICA TO LONDON,PRIME MINISTER OF ENGLAND MY BABY.THERE ARE ALL MY BABIES IN AMERICA.POTENTIAL PARENTS.MY BABIES HAVE NOT SHOWN THIER PARENTS DOWN.ALL MY PARENTS ARE POOR JACK NICHOLSON AND BIJYENDRA SINGH CAN COME TO TAKE ME TO OSCARS IN JEDDAR,JETS MADE BY ME PREVIOUSLY KEPT IN THE KAAKE NOW WITH MY UNCLES AND ALL THE RENUNCIATION TO OSCARS FOR ME AND MY BABIES MR AVATOR ALSO MR JAMES CAMERON AND MR JACK NICHOLSON IN GREEN CAR FIAT GOINGBY AND THE BYKE DONE JACK NICHOLSON AND AHEAD THE MAN IN SCOOTER.HOW WERE MY BABIES TAKEN TO OSCARS BY THESE JACK NICHOLSON AND FIAT AND ALSO IN SCOOTER.MY GUINNESS RECORD OF MAXIMUM BABIES IN ONE TIME MR MARK THOMPSON

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

November 29th, 2011 at 2:22 pm

MANY AMITABH BACHCHAN IN ALL MOVIES AND AKSHAYE KUMAR DONE RIG GUILDS,MUZZO,JUDY BROWN SPEARS,MYSELVES ‘AMITABH’ WHEN OUR DAYS MOVIES WERE PREVIOUS DAYS AMITABH.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

January 31st, 2012 at 7:33 pm

I HAVE BEEN TRYING MY LEVEL BEST IN THE FASHION TV WHYNOT NYLON COAT PANT IN FLOWERS DONE THE FLOERS DONE THE DOWN PART OF THE PUM SHOES AND ABOVE RED,WHAT A SHAPING OF THE VARIOUS FLOWERED THE DOWN HEAL HEAD DONE IN CURLY HAIR PINNING ON TOP.C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

January 31st, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I HAVE BEEN TRYING MY LEVEL BEST IN THE FASHION TV WHYNOT NYLON COAT PANT IN FLOWERS DONE THE FLOERS DONE THE DOWN PART OF THE PUM SHOES AND ABOVE RED,WHAT A SHAPING OF THE VARIOUS FLOWERED THE DOWN HEAL HEAD DONE IN CURLY HAIR PINNING ON TOP.C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA.HOW ARE YOU DADAJI JACK NICHOLSON ONE NICHOLSON TO MY PLACE WHO IS STOUT ALL MY FAMILY IS HAPPY WITH THE VARIOUS OSCARS.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

January 31st, 2012 at 7:43 pm

HOW ARE THE VARIOUS RICKETS DONE THE RED DONE THE RAKERS DONE THE PALM TREE DONE THE VARIOUS DONE SLACKS DONE THE VARIOUS CLOTH DONE THE JEANS LIKE IN BLUE CYAN DONE THE VARIOUS SHADE DONE THE VARIOUS BLUE DONE THE SANDALS.PAY MY FATHER AT THE ADDRESS-C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA.PAY ME JAMES CAMERON TAKE MY BABIES FROM ‘STICK NO BILLS’HUTS DONE VARIOUSFASHION OF VARIOUS DONE THE LIGHT BROWN DONE THE COVETED COAT OF FLOWERS ON THE DRESS AND THE VARIOUS LIGHT BROWN BROWN DONE STONES IN THE SHOES WITH VARIOUS DONE THE VARIOUS DESIGNING THE VARIOUS THICK SHINY SOBER CLOTH OF VARIOUS THICK NY;LON DONE THE STETHO ON THE SIDE DONE WAYPER FOR OSCARS LONG DONE HANDS DONE IN LIGHT GREEN AND VARIOUS LIGHT BLUE THAN ALSO BROWN LIGHT BROWN GOWN DONE THE SIDE DONE A LINE CUT IN THE DRAPPERY TO SHOW LEG.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

January 31st, 2012 at 7:48 pm

CAN YOU BRINGUP MY BABIES IN BIRDS AND ANIMALS AND VARIOUS DONE STICK NO BILLS HUT AND THE BABIES IN MY STOMACH GOT BABIES BY THE CHEMICALS DONE THE CAUTIONED AMERICAN BABIES COME OUT YOUR VOICE ALSO FROM TELEVISION,ROBIN WILLIAM SPEARS.C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA.ALL BABIES FROM SAKCHI COURT TO KOLKATA PLATFORM WHERE THERE IS MY BABY IN TRAIN CALLED STEEL CARRYING PUCHKA PUCHKI.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

January 31st, 2012 at 7:52 pm

THEN THE FASHION DESIGNING OF VARIOUS DONE SILVER PANTS AND THE POCKETS IN BACK DONE PANT OF THE VARIOUS YELLOW DONE POCKETS,THEN THE VARIOUS TOP IN YELLOW DONE THE VARIOUS YELLOW FLOWER IN DESIGN THEN THE VARIOUS DONE THE VARIOUS YELLOW DONE COAT OF VARIOUS SHIRT LOUNGE UPTIL KNEE BACK FROM FRONT DONE THE VARIOUS PANTS DONE THE VARIOUS TIED IN FRONT,C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

April 24th, 2012 at 3:48 pm

COME WITH MEN TO TAKE US TO AMERICA BECAUSE ALL ARE DIFFERENTLY SETTLED.JAMES CAMEROON I AM GOING OLD AND ANYHOW I NEED TO REACH OSCARS THE EYES AWAITING IN OSARS TO SEE ME.MYSELVES AM TO MUCH INTERESTED TO GO AMERICA,COME AND SIT IN MY HOUSE AND ASK MY FATHER AND TAKE MY WHOLE FAMILY AND BABIES TO OSCARS,ANDREW GEATES ONCE CAME AND GAVE US RUPEES 11,000 IN AN AMBASSADOR CAR MY PARENTS DON’T HAVE ROOF ON THIER HEAD THEY LIVE IN TUSSELS IN ‘STICK NO BILLS’ AREA OF GOLMURI,DO SOMETHING THAT YOU SEARCH MY GRANDPA AND TAKE HIM TO OSCARS,MY EYES ARE AWAITING FOR YOU IN WHAT ONDITIONS CAN BE MY GRANDFATHER MY BROTHER IS IN KOTKAPURA IN PUNJAB AND WITH WHOM MY GRANDMOTHER AND GRANDFATHER LIVE NOW ALSO I WRITE SCRIPT IN INFO@SCRIPTBLASTER.COM.LONGWAY TO GIVE FOOD TO MY FAMILY AFTER BRINGING WATER IN DESSERT COUNTRIES NOBODY KNOWS ME TO TAKE MY ALL PEOPLE TO OSCARS.THIS IS MY LAST MOMENTS OF LIFE TO GO OSCARS AND MY BABIES ALOVER IN BIRDS AND ANIMALS WITH THE WATER IN DESSERT COUNTRIES AND A DESSERT IN AMERICA YOUR MONEY MUST HAVE DOUBLED WHERE AM I ASKING YOU GIVE ME ANYTHING JUST TAKE US TO AMERICA COME WITH MEN TO TAKE US TO AMERICA.ADDRESS-C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA. TELL ALL MY FAMILY MEMBERS WHEN TIME CAME THEY ARE SO POOR TO BE IN MUD HUTS,FOR WHAT REASON THEY TAUGHT ME ONLY.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

August 25th, 2012 at 10:15 pm

WHERE ARE YOU TAKE MY BABIES FROM’STICK NO BILLS’ AREA OF BIHAR.ADDRESSSTICK NO BILLS AREA FROM WHERE YOU TOOK CHANEL IMAN.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

October 4th, 2012 at 6:48 pm

RESPECTED JAMES CAMEROON WHY DID YOU TELL A LIE TO WORLD THAT TITANIC IS NOT YOUR FIRST MOVIE. SEE THE PESTILENCE WITH WHICH WE MADE ‘TITANIC’ THEN ‘AVATOR’ ALL ALONGWITH YOU MANJULA MANI.I AM HAVING MAXIMUM BABIES IN WORLD NOT FIRST TIME YOU KNOW I MAKE RECORDS EVERY NEXT YEAR NOW,I WILL LIKE TO TAKE THE NEW GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS WITH TRAILTTORS IN MY HEAD AND VARIOUS BIRDS AND ANIMALS CARRYING BABIES.HOW DID YOU LOOK THOSEDAYS JAMES PETERSON COME ALL YOU CURLY HAIR.ADDRESSING YOU BILL CLINTON YOUR FOREFATHER IS DAVID CLINTON AND BUSH PLEASE COME AND TAKE YOUR BABIES AND VARIOUS MARK THOMPSON GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS.ADDRESS-C/O RAM YASH SINGH,MANJULA MANI,T/111/34,NML COLONY,GOLMURI,JAMSHEDPUR-831003.BIHAR.INDIA.

Avatar

MANJULA MANI

October 16th, 2012 at 9:18 pm

I AM NOT WELL

Comment Form

top
css.php